Thoughts on Management

I’ll be starting an ongoing series of short posts detailing my thoughts on management.

To me, management is a never ending journey.  No matter what you do, there’s always room for improvement and reflection.  There are tons of theories and ideologies when it comes to management, but to me there is no one mold.  People can’t be reduced to a simple set of traits that you can apply formulas to.

First up will be Management 101

2 responses to “Thoughts on Management

  1. I stumbled upon your blog, I have been through leadership training and appreciate the refresher. I always seem to slip back into the “barking” orders and try to push aside the human side of my staff. Thanks for the reminder!

    • Thanks Tina. That’s a good point, it’s easy to fall back into that style. It happens to me too. To combat it, I try to make sure people feel comfortable telling me how they really feel all the time, including telling me if I’m being difficult. It takes a lot of work and can be hard, but the more feedback I get, the better I can lead and make decisions. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

